Karma and The Universal Golden Rule

I AM THE OWNER OF MY KARMA.

I INHERIT MY KARMA.

I AM BORN OF MY KARMA.

I LIVE SUPPORTED BY MY KARMA.

WHATEVER KARMA I CREATE,

WHETHER GOOD OR EVIL.

THAT I SHALL INHERIT,

AND I ALONE.

-Heart of a Buddha [compliments of the amida society]

What this means to me:

The above quote, to me, explains why The Golden Rule is so cherished by all religions and philosophies (in all its different forms) from every part of this planet.

From the positive way of looking at it:

“Treat others the way in which you want to be treated”

To the negative counter part of this (which still pretty much means the same thing):

“Don’t treat others poorly or they will treat you poorly” (the ‘eye-for-an-eye’ type mentality)

….—-….

So, basically all this Karma stuff just helps to explain The Golden Rule and why it is so important.  When you are respectful and cherish the feelings of others, you will have the same flowed back to you ( if not, MORE so) in this lifetime and/or the next.

Also, it is interesting to contemplate, when things are going really shitty…what in the world we might have down in the last lifetime to warrant whatever it is that is going on in our lives at that moment.  And what I can do in the ‘here and now’ to make sure I solidify a better future for myself in this lifetime and the next.

That is probably why they [and I say ‘they’ because there are way to many people to quote right now] say treat others how you want to be treated…because YOU ARE treating yourself THAT WAY.

Doesn’t really matter how you, I or anyone else “feels” about it…it just is the way it is.

Karma can be a blessing or a curse.

That is really up to each one of us individually.

Peace, love and Good Karma Blessings.

-me

Leave a Reply

