Bought a book…

I am not even sure if i totally feel like writing right now…I FEEL like reading my new book.

However, I was reading my new book at lunch today and it was talking about resistance as the enemy of creativity, productivity and ultimately the enemy to progress, happiness and success.

If the author was hanging out on this patio at night staring at the stars with me, he would probably tell me that if I stop writing and start reading and toking and e-mailing….well, I wont get writing done.  And I would be allowing resistance in the form of avoidance to creep in and distract me from my ultimate purpose right now: writing.

 

This author also says I need to write if I want to call myself a writer.  That means, every day, in some form or fashion, i need to…well….write!!!

 

“Resistance is the most toxic force on the planet.  It is the root of more unhappiness than poverty disease, and erectile dysfunction.To yield to Resistance deforms our spirit.  It stunts us and makes us less than we are and were born to be.  If you believe in God (and I do) you must declare Resistance evil, for it prevents us from achieving the life God intended when [God] endowed each of us with our own unique genius.  Genius is a Latin word; the Romans used it to denote an inner spirit, holy and inviolable, which watches over us, guiding us to our calling.  A writer writes with his genius; an artist paints with hers; everyone who creates operates from this sacramental center.  It is our soul’s seat, the vessel that holds our being-in-potential, our star’s beacon and Polaris.

“Every sun casts a shadow, and genius’s shadow is Resistance.  As powerful as is our soul’s call to realization, so potent are the forces of Resistance arrayed against it.  Resistance is faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locomotive, harder to kick than crack cocaine.  We’re not alone if we’ve been mowed down by Resistance; millions of good men and women have bitten the dust before us.  And here’s the biggest bitch: We don’t even know what hit us.  I never did.  From age twenty-four to thirty-two, Resistance kicked my ass from East Coast to West and back again thirteen times and I never even knew it existed.  I looked everywhere for the enemy and failed to see it right in front of my face.”  -theWARofART (3rd & 4th paragraghs under “The Unlived Life”) by: Steven Pressfield

 

theWARofART

(Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles)

By: Steven Pressfield

 

Leave a Reply

