Slow. Not so overrated

I’m slow, but I get there.

my motto for most things.

Same goes for relationships.  I am slow to form them…but when I do, I got your back…even when we are not speaking for some reason or another.

So, I am slow.  Feels more comfortable to go slow.  I get a better feel for who someone is and what they are like after I spend a little time with them.

I have also noticed, that with kindred spirits/people I feel an immediate connection with, I want to spend a good amount of time with them.  Talk about all sorts of random shit, hang out and do different stuff together.  See if you can take them around different kinds of personalities and other friends.

I think this goes for relationships in love too.  The faster I am into something, the faster I am over it.  The longer it takes me to get something…the more respect and appreciation I have for it.

So if a good man waits and gets to know me and I do the same for him, I think this just strengthens the foundation on which the whole relationship is built upon.

The stronger the foundation, the longer it lasts…and the less maintenance is required.

I dunno.  What do you think?  Am I correct? Or am I totally off base from your perspective?

I know I used to just dive straight into full blown passionate roller coaster relationships…but I have not been very successful with those.  They tend to make good memories, but that is about it.

The ones that really touch me at my core, are the few where me and the other person have shown self restraint and really gotten to know each other.  Those bonds are for life…regardless of how we left things (or going to leave things).

I gotta remember to practice what I preach and not get lazy in the process of getting to know people.

-me

Leave a Reply

